First Snow Fall-Rare Morning Off

Morning of the first snow fall..
Morning of the first snow fall..

 

We had our first snowfall of the year. We got around 6-8 inches of heavy stuff.  My poor bushes were drooping like they were begging for mercy until I brushed them off. As much as I hate driving in it, I will confess, I like to look at it.

The past two months have been very busy for me. I’ve been forced to work a lot more overtime that I am used to, due to staff shortages. I’ve signed up to work a lot of it to avoid being surprised with being mandated for it. We base these things on hours worked and the low man will draw the short straw.

I haven’t had a whole lot of time to really focus on myself as it has been a mad dash to keep up with everything that has been going on, in addition to daily life. I’ve said it before, and I swear I am not whining, but it’s hard enough to keep up when you’re healthy and even harder when you’re ill.

Yesterday marked the end of my long shifts until after Thanksgiving. Thank God. I think that the hours and the stress have played a huge role in my cold that lingered for the past few weeks. I’m ready for a little bit of a break too.

Extra money is nice to a point but I also value my time and my sanity. I’m also a text book introvert so I am in a serious need of a recharge of my own batteries.

This morning, I finally got to spend some time by myself. I did a little shopping and drove to another city to check on a property that I take care of. I even stopped at Starbucks for a venti Peppermint Mocha with soy. Hell yea I want whipped cream!!

I’m not allergic to milk, I just prefer how it tastes with soy milk. Yum!

Part of my drive takes me through the heart of an Amish settlement where I grew up. The sky was an amazing shade of blue and pink and even the clouds were interesting. It has been awhile since I’ve been able to take a moment to stop and notice. And breathe.

Hello sweet pony.
Hello sweet pony.

 

In the absence of noticing things around me, today I saw that the Amish family across the street got a new little paint pony. I don’t know when he showed up, but he’s so cute and sweet!

I really enjoy driving through and visiting the area. I moved north to the St. Joseph County area in 2001 and while it’s not that far from home, it’s still nice to come around and see the farms. Who would have thought you would miss being stuck behind a buggy that much.

image
Cooler in person..

I can’t even begin to explain how nice it was to just drive and enjoy the time alone and to not be in a rush to get anywhere anytime soon. I still had to work today, but it was my usual shift for only eight hours.

*sigh*

image  

I am so tired though. Tomorrow, I have to go for my labs. Then I get to go back home for a few hours. I am already dreaming about the nap I am going to take. How crazy is that?

 

2 thoughts on “First Snow Fall-Rare Morning Off

Leave a Reply

