Change My Ways? I’m Not That Ticked Off

5 year old my and Gypsy
6 year old me and Gypsy

When I was five years old, I took off into the woods during a tornado watch. My grandfather was outside storm spotting like a funnel was about to come rolling over the hillside. By the way I got yelled at, you would have thought that it had. Maybe it was coming. I don’t know. I was five.

I was blissfully running through the field and woods. I climbed trees and over logs, through the brush. I was what my grandfather referred to as “a free spirit”.

I guess I wanted to go swimming?
Ready to go swimming!

It’s ingrained in my DNA. It’s not like I could help it. I come from Vikings and pioneers.

When I was six, I was riding ponies and horses without ever being told how. I built impressive forts and had a working knowledge of things I had never been taught.

I was built for exploration and adventure.

Overlooking the Loch. Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Overlooking the Loch. Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado

I’ve had two people, so far, make comments about the outdoors and going hiking.

I told my friend Marissa about my diagnosis and her response was,”Wow, and I was going to ask you to take me hiking with you,”

Ok and why aren’t we going?

Another person said “Wow, no more woods for you.”

I don’t agree.

Me after I slid down a snow-field on my butt. Ha!
Me after I slid down a snow-field on my butt. Ha!

I see no reason to give up the activities that I enjoy because of this. I don’t have any plans to change my ways. I am going to continue to go kayaking, camping, hiking, trail riding and other activities that I enjoy. I just have to be more careful.

I have been all over the country to hike. I love Colorado, Montana and Tennessee. I wander all over my home state of Indiana. I think my favorite state park is Turkey Run. I can walk the trails of Potato Creek State Park backwards and blindfolded at night.

Kayaking on Worster Lake at Potato Creek State Park- Indiana
Kayaking on Worster Lake at Potato Creek State Park- Indiana

I do think it’s wild that I am 38 years old and I have been playing in the woods since I was a little girl. I have always been really vigilant about checking myself for ticks. I’ve had my share of encounters with them.  I’m actually fairly paranoid about them. Here I am, 38 years old and I have Lyme Disease. I guess my lucky ran out.

Crazy.

image

I couldn’t’ give up hiking even if I tried. I wouldn’t be able to do it. It’s a part of me. It’s where I find my peace. It’s my outlet for stress. I love the outdoors. There’s too much to see and experience.  So the answer is a big fat no. I have no plans to change my ways.

Neither should you.

5 thoughts on “Change My Ways? I’m Not That Ticked Off

  1. Getting a tick bite can happen to anyone at any time, right in their own backyard even. Ticks are not confined to forests and trails, which I’m sure is a common misunderstanding. I agree with your sentiments, getting Lymes doesn’t have to mean you should change the way you live. For some it might, but that’s sad. I’m glad to see you’re continuing to do what you love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. Ticks are everywhere. People don’t stop taking road-trips over the fear of car accidents. Or flying.. Or practically anything. The outdoors is a huge part of my life. I’ve gone out on my good days but they were short hikes. Didn’t even think twice. Hopefully, I’ll be well enough to do the things I used to do very soon. 😎

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

