What’s Happening? The Recap Of the Past Two Weeks

It has been two weeks and two days since my visit to the ER.

I attempted to mow my lawn. It’s fairly small in the front and good sized in the back. I managed to mow the easement in the ally by my garage and the back fence. I mowed the front yard. I was so exhausted and felt sick that I just put the mower away and went in the house to lay down for a little while. I just couldn’t do it.

What I have experienced the most is extreme fatigue. For about a week I would describe it as crippling because I have been so weak it has taken every ounce of my being to get through a day.

I go to bed before midnight.I don’t get off work until 10pm. Then I have to pick up my son and drive home. I can’t just go to bed right away.  I am up by 6:30am to get my son ready for school. I return home usually by 8:30am. I lay down in bed or on the couch.

I have the best of intentions and set my alarm for 10:30. I have a plan to get up and get some chores done around the house. The alarm goes off. I set it to snooze. I repeat this probably ten times.

I realize that there’s nothing I can do. I am so tired that I have to continue to rest until 12:30 at the latest. I have to get up and get ready for work.

So far, if I rest until 12:30, I can function and give the 110% necessary  to be effective at work.  I have no choice. I am too important. I have a city full of people, police officers, the fire department and my co-workers all  depending on me. I have to be sharp.

So far so good, as long as I sleep.

If I don’t sleep. I feel horrible. My body literally hurts. My brain is foggy. At this point I still have abdominal pain. I have a headache every morning. The joints in my hands are tender. My fingers are swollen. My muscles are twitching a bit.

My eye keeps twitching and it’s driving me nuts. For two reasons. One, it’s annoying. Two, I am convinced that people notice it. It makes me feel a little self conscious.

I’m also doing a lot of research and I know that facial paralysis is part of this game. Bells palsy. I saw a photo of a woman whose eye lid is drooping. I worry that this is the start of that.

At this point, I don’t have enough knowledge to know any better. I am working on it.  I keep reminding myself that this is a process and I can’t expect myself to be an expert in a day.

It’s stressing me out.

There is a lot of scary information. Lyme Disease has the potential to really cause a lot of damage.  Or I may get lucky with an early diagnoses and I will not have any long term effects.

The shitty thing is knowing that it can really go either way.

I’ve been on the antibiotics for approximately 4 days. I am waiting for the sickness associated with the bacteria dying to begin.  The slang term for this is called “Herxing.”  Herxing is named from Jarisch-Herxheimer.

The Jarisch-Herxheimer reaction was named after two European dermatologists who were working on treatment for patients with syphilis, which is an infection caused by a spirochaete, similarly to Lyme disease.

Herxing happens when the bacteria die and your body has to deal with the dead cells. It’s like a healing crisis.  You basically become ill from this. I am currently researching ways to assist my body with this process.

One way to do this is through detoxification and nutrition.  I have started a list of different things that I am going to pick up from the grocery store to help with this.

For example:

Lemons to add to my water. Fish oil. Garlic. Ginger tea. Probiotics. Epsom salt to soak my feet in.

I am going to get into supplements and nutrition in a later post. I am not sure how involved I want to get with these things at this point. I don’t know a lot about supplements. I am familiar with the items listed above and I know they won’t kill me. So why not add it to my diet?

It’s almost 1am. I need to be up by 6am. If I don’t get some sleep I am going to pay for it tomorrow. I have to get things done. I have to keep moving. I have to get better.

I just realized I haven’t eaten since lunch. I don’t think the peach I cut up and ate counts as a meal.

Ugh.

Leave a Reply

